Toomey pushes term limits

Published by James O'Toole on .

Sen. Pat Toomey is co-sponsoring legislation to impose term limits on members of Congress _  three terms for House members and two terms for senators.

Mr. Toomey is a longtime champion of the term limit movement.  As former House member, he kept to a campaign pledge in voluntarily retiring after serving three terms.  His chief co-sponsor on the legislation is Sen. David Vitter, R-La.  Also joining in support of the measure, which has little apparent chance of immediate success in the Democratic-controlled Senate, was a cadre of Senate Tea Party favorites: Sens. Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H.; Tom Coburn, R-Okla.;  Ted Cruz, R-Texas; Ron Johnson R-Wis.; Mike Lee, R-Utah; Rand Paul, R-Ky; and Marco Rubio, R-Fla.

"Congress should not be a body of career politicians who have forgotten why they were sent to Washington in the first place,” Mr. Toomey said in a statement heralding the new vehicle for a longstanding proposal. “We are here to do the people’s work, to solve the problems we face, and to leave to our children a stronger, safer, more prosperous nation. I kept my promise to serve just three terms in the House of Representatives. I am pleased to cosponsor a Constitutional amendment to enact term limits for both the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to see this through.”

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.